Stalin announces Rs 25 lakh for scientists from tamil Nadu

Tambaram: Chief Minister MK Stalin on Monday announced that a cash award of ₹ 25 lakh would be given to each of the nine eminent space scientists from Tamil Nadu, including K Sivan and Mylswamy Annadurai, in recognition of their services to the nation.

At a function organised to felicitate the ISRO scientists from Tamil Nadu, MK Stalin, in his address, said that alongside the news of the success of Chandrayaan-3, the information about the Tamils associated with such missions too had spread everywhere.

Recalling the words of former Chief Minister CN Annadurai, he said the late leader had wondered aloud why Tamil Nadu had not been the home of icons in the league of physicist Albert Einstein and inventor Thomas Alva Edison. “Today, however, the state has so many stalwarts in the field of science,” Stalin said, listing the names of the noted ISRO personalities who hail from the state.

Former ISRO chairman Sivan, Chandrayaan (1 and 2) project director Mylswamy Annadurai and Director of Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre-ISRO V Narayanan were among those honoured.

Director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre A Rajarajan, distinguished ISRO scientist M Sankaran and Chandrayaan-3 project director P Veeramuthuvel were also among those who were felicitated.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top