Bangladesh Test Squad against India Announced, India tour of Bangladesh 2022 Test Squad

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has named a formidable 17-member test squad for the opening test against team India at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram. India and Bangladesh will square off against each other in the 1st test match on December 14.

Senior batter Tamim Iqbal failed to recover from his injury, which he suffered prior to the India tour of Bangladesh and has been subsequently ruled out of the 1st Test. Top-order batsman Zakir Hasan has received a maiden call-up for the 1st test to replace Tamim Iqbal.

Zakir Hasan was magnificent recently in the 1st unofficial test between India A and Bangladesh A. The batter scored 173 runs and fought hard to draw the contest. The Bangladeshi selectors praised the cricketer and said Hasan was on the selector’s radar for the last couple of years owing to his fantastic consistency.

“Zakir is one of the most talented young players and has been on our radar for the last five years,” Bangladesh chief selector Minhajul Abedin said on Thursday.

“He was in the high performance unit, and this season he was the highest scorer in first-class cricket. He played a good knock against India A last week. It saved the game. From what we have seen, he is prepared for the highest level.”

Meanwhile, veteran wicketkeeper batter Mushfiquar Rahim also traced his way back to the test side after missing a test series against West Indies in June.

Fast Bowler Taskin Ahmad, who was ruled out of the ODI series due to an injury, has recovered well and is named in Bangladesh’s squad for the 1st Test against India along with Yasir Ali.

Bangladesh Test Squad for 1st Test: Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mominul Haque, Taskin Ahmed, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (C), Shoriful Islam, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hassan Shanto, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Zakir Hasan, Litton Das, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Anamul Haque Bijoy

India’s Test Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul (VC), Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top