Innings win for Tamil Nadu over Assam in Ranji Trophy

Tamil Nadu’s march to victory started with skipper Sai Kishore (2/51) leading from the front by removing the openers.

The tall left-arm spinner got one to pitch on the rough and turn sharply to bowl the left-handed Rahul Hazarika, who tried to pad it away before removing Subham Mandal leg-before.

Ajith then took centre stage, taking three quick wickets. The 24-year-old is a brave spinner in the classical mould, relying on flight and loop rather than flatter trajectories, even when hit for boundaries.

Riyan Parag hit Ajith for two consecutive sixes down the ground, but the youngster kept tossing it up and, two balls later, had the batter edge it to the keeper, tripped by the extra bounce.

He then had skipper Gokul Sharma trapped in front before bowling Sarupam Purkayastha, who did not offer a shot to a delivery that drifted in.

Only Rishav Das (58) fought for the visitors, scoring a valiant half-century before pacer Sandeep Warrier had him caught in the slips with the second new ball.

Fittingly, Ajith Ram finished the job by taking the last two wickets as Tamil Nadu – knocked out of the competition before this game – scored its first win since 2020 in the Ranji Trophy.

The scores: Tamil Nadu (1st innings): 540; Assam (1st innings): 266.

Assam (2nd innings; f/o): Subham Mandal lbw b Sai Kishore 33, Rahul Hazarika b Sai Kishore 40, Rishav Das c Sai Sudharsan b Warrier 58, Riyan Parag c Jagadeesan b Ajith Ram 15, Gokul Sharma lbw b Ajith Ram 2, Abhishek Thakuri b Aparajith 11, Sarupam Purkayastha b Ajith Ram 1, Siddharth Sarmah c Indrajith b Aparajith 4, Akash Sengupta not out 25, Mukhtar Hussain st Jagadeesan b Ajith Ram 5, Sunil Lachit lbw b Ajith Ram 0, Extras (b-5, lb-5): 10; Total (in 88.1 overs): 204

Fall of wickets: 1-73, 2-90, 3-105, 4-107, 5-128, 6-129, 7-148, 8-183, 9-188; Tamil Nadu Bowling: Trilok Nag 5-1-12-0, Aparajith 16-5-31-2, Warrier 6-1-11-1, Sai Kishore 28-9-51-2, Pradosh 4-1-4-0, Ajith Ram 24.1-6-70-5, Sai Sudharsan 1-0-4-0, Vijay Shankar 4-0-11-0.

Result: Tamil Nadu won by innings and 70 runs.

Player of Match: S. Ajith Ram

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top