TNPL 2023: Tamil Nadu Premier League set to GO BIG next season, to have TNPL Auction instead of Player Draft

In some big changes, the upcoming edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League will have its first-ever auction instead of the player draft. Not only that, TNPL governing council has also decided to introduce the decision review system (DRS) for the upcoming edition. The move to conduct an auction was among the key decisions taken by the TNPL Governing Council at its meeting held recently.

“All players wishing to participate in the tournament will have to register themselves between December 28 and January 20, 2023,” a TNCA press release. The TNPL Governing Council decided to also recommend to the Apex Council that players who do not participate in TNPL after registration for reasons other than bona fide injury, Indian team commitments and other BCCI commitments, should not be considered for Tamil Nadu teams participating in the shorter format of the BCCI tournaments.

The Governing Council of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL), on Wednesday, said Franchises can retain a maximum of two players – one each from Category A or B and Category C or D.

The GC has also mandated that all eight teams would start the auction with Rs 70 lakh purse each, depending upon the category of players they retained. The auction will take place on February 23 and 24.

Price division

  • Rs. 10 lakhs for Category A (players who have represented International matches)
  • Rs. 6 lakhs for Category B (players who have represented senior BCCI domestic matches)
  • Rs. 3 Lakhs for Category C (players who are not in Category A or B but who have played more than 30 TNPL matches)
  • Rs. 1.50 Lakhs for Category D player (other players)

The deadline for retention was 30th January 2023.

The following players were retained by the TNPL Franchisees.

  • Chepauk Super Gillies – Balance Rs 61,00,000
  • N. Jagadeesan – Category B
  • Sasidev.U – Category C
  • Dindigul Dragons – Balance Rs 60,00,000
  • Ashwin R. – Category A
  • Idream Tiruppur Tamizhans – Balance Rs 68,50,000
  • Tushar Raheja – Category D
  • LYCA Kovai Kings – Balance Rs 62,50,000
  • Shahrukh Khan .M – Category B
  • Suresh Kumar J. – Category D
  • Nellai Royal Kings – Balance Rs 62,50,000
  • Ajitesh G. – Category B
  • Karthik Manikandan .V.S – Category D
  • Ruby Trichy Warriors – Balance Rs 64,00,000
  • Antony Dhas. W – Category B
  • Salem Spartans – Balance Rs 67,00,000
  • Ganesh Moorthi .M – Category C
  • Siechem Madurai Panthers – Balance Rs 68,50, 000
  • Gowtam .V – Category D

Lyca Kovai Kings & Chepauk Super Gillies were named as the joint winners of TNPL 2022. The five seasons have produced three different winners so far. The defending champions Chepauk Super Gillies are also the most successful side in the TNPL winning the title three times in five seasons. They had also reached the finals in the inaugural edition, thus proving that they have a strong side throughout the TNPL. While the Tuti Patriots and Siechem Madurai Panthers are the other two teams that have been previous TNPL Winners. The Dindigul Dragons have came close to joining the list but were beaten in the final in each of the last 2018 and 2019 editions.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top