EC announces MP Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram, Telangana poll dates

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday announced the schedule for holding assembly elections in five states, including Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Mizoram.

The election in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases – the first stage of voting will be held on November 7. The second phase will be held on November 17. The legislative election in Madhya Pradesh will be held on November 17.

The voting in Mizoram will be on November 7, while Rajasthan will go to polls on November 23 and Telangana on November 30 in a single phase.

The counting of votes in all five states will be held on December 3, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar announced at a press conference. These were the last set of assembly elections ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

The Model Code of Conduct has come into force with the announcement of poll dates. The elections to five states are crucial as they are being held months before the Lok Sabha elections in April-May next year.

The term of the Mizoram assembly ends on December 17. The Mizo National Front is in power in the northeastern state. The terms of the legislative assemblies of Telangana, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan end on different dates in January next year.

While the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) rules Telangana, Madhya Pradesh is ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party. The Congress is in power in Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top